The BTAA Awards 2005: Chairman's Foreword

Having had such a great time judging the British Television Advertising Awards under Charles Inge the previous year, it was with some trepidation that I stepped into the chairman's role. In choosing the jury, I was asked to include some creatives from the interactive side of the business, to coincide with the introduction of viral and interactive categories in each section. My only stipulation was I wanted an even split of men and women.

In briefing this year's jury, I pointed out that a good test of a great TV commercial is one you want to watch not just once, but over and over.

My only other request was for them to award work that was different and relevant, as at some award shows the best jokes get awarded at the expense of the product. Overall, I think the jury would like to have seen a little more originality. Obvious influences were The Office and retro 70s kitsch.

Many of last year's winners were vying for a place on the podium with new executions of the same idea, but most fell short of the standard of previous years. That said, there were some pieces that easily found their way to the top of the pile with little debate.

Unfortunately, no interactive or viral pieces were of a high enough standard to be awarded. It became clear that interactive ideas are difficult to judge among TV ads and the jury felt if this category is to be included it should be judged differently.

I would like to say thank you to all the jury for giving up their valuable time and for making my job so enjoyable and easy. Thanks also to the hard-working team behind the scenes at BTAA, especially Peter and Doreen. Congratulations to all this year's winners. I look forward to watching your ads over and over again.


(Standing, l to r) Paul Rothwell, Gorgeous Enterprises; David Patton, Sony Computer Entertainment; Seb Royce, Glue; Matthew Smith, The Viral Factory; Eric Lynne, Partizan; Maya Bhose, UK TV; Nick Gill, Bartle Bogle Hegarty

(Sitting down, l to r) Leslie Ali, WCRS; Gill Bernsten, Welsh Tourist Board; Caroline Pay, Mother; Ed Morris, Lowe; Simon Clift, Unilever; Jan Guest, The Independent; Tony Davidson, chairman of the jury, Wieden + Kennedy; Lizie Gower, Academy; Peter Buchanan, COI Communications; Pip Bishop, Rainey Kelly Campbell Roalfe/Y&R

(Not photographed) Matt Saunby, Grey; Ringan Ledwidge, Small Family Business.


Become a member of Campaign from just £45 a quarter

Get the very latest news and insight from Campaign with unrestricted access to ,plus get exclusive discounts to Campaign events

Become a member

Looking for a new job?

Get the latest creative jobs in advertising, media, marketing and digital delivered directly to your inbox each day.

Create an Alert Now

Partner content


1 Why creative people have lost their way

What better way to kick off Campaign's relaunch than with another think piece on the current failings of our industry, written by an embittered, pretentious creative who misses "the way things used to be"...


1 Job description: Digital marketing executive

Digital marketing executives oversee the online marketing strategy for their organisation. They plan and execute digital (including email) marketing campaigns and design, maintain and supply content for the organisation's website(s).