Feature

Another top 50 list of the UK's marketing and advertising influencers

Social listening company Lissted have published an alternative list to Klout's rankings, and it's very different. The question is, why?

Lissted: publish rankings of UK marketing and advertising influencers
Lissted: publish rankings of UK marketing and advertising influencers

Last week, Brand Republic published the top 50 UK marketing and advertising Klout influencers on social media.

Within moments, people were questioning how meaningful Klout rankings were, including someone who was included on the list.

While many questioned Klout, Lissted , a social listening tool which latest offering is currently in beta and analyses communities, published an alternative list on their blog (reproduced with permission, below). There was crossover between the list, but not much – only eight out of 50.

Founder and "head data chef" Adam Parker explained the impetus for the service came from a chapter he wrote on social influence for the Chartered Institute of Public Relations' book from 2013, Share This Too.

The problem, Parker thought, was that current measures of influence primarily focused on noise – such as reach, volume of posts and engagement metrics like retweets – but didn't examine who was listening to this noise and how relevant and influential they are off of social media.

Lissted's difference, Parker says, is two-fold. Firstly Lissted has built a database of nearly two million Twitter accounts that, based on its machine learning, it claims are more likely to be related to real world influencers.

To identify influencers in a community it then looks at the relationships – who follows who – and interactions with other members of a specific group within this list.

To generate Lissted's rankings, the algorithm took into account 25,000 accounts and 15 million relationships, as well as interactions between these accounts.

Parker said: "We would argue that's a better measure of who has the true potential for influence."

Here are Lissted's rankings. We've linked the names people who are on both lists to their place on the Klout list, and taken job titles from individual's LinkedIn pages.

  1. Stephen Waddington (8), @wadds, partner and chief engagement officer, Ketchum

  2. Jeremy Waite (38), @jeremywaite, head of digital strategy, EMEA, @Salesforce Marketing Cloud

  3. Bruce Daisley, @brucedaisley, UK managing director and VP Europe, Twitter

  4. Gordon MacMillan, @gordonmacmillan, editorial manager, Twitter

  5. Rory Sutherland (42), @rorysutherland, vice chairman, Ogilvy Group UK

  6. Vikki Chowney, @vikkichowney, director of content & publishing strategies, H+K Strategies

  7. Justin Pearse, @justinpearse, managing director and editorial director, The Drum Works

  8. Dan Barker, @danbarker, e-business consultant

  9. Andy Barr, @10Yetis, owner, 10Yetis

  10. Kelvin Newman, @kelvinnewman; founder, BrightonSEO; founder and managing director, Rough Agenda; marketing director, SiteVisibility.

  11. James Whatley, @Whatleydude, digital director, Ogilvy & Mather

  12. Charlotte McEleny, @charlottemc, digital editor, Marketing Magazine

  13. Andrew Bloch, @AndrewBloch, group managing director and founder, Frank PR

  14. Dr Dave Chaffey (1), @DaveChaffey, CEO, Smart Insights

  15. Drew Benvie, @drewb, founder, Battenhall

  16. Andrew Grill, @AndrewGrill, ‎global managing partner, IBM Social Consulting

  17. Arif Durrani, @DurraniMix; current: editor, Media Week and media editor, Campaign; future: commercial editor, EMEA, Bloomberg Media
  18. Katy Howell, @katyhowell, CEO and social media strategist, immediate future

  19. Neville Hobson (47), @jangles, business communicator, blogger, podcaster

  20. Matt Rhodes, @mattrhodes, digital strategy director, WCRS

  21. Rich Leigh, @RichLeighPR, founder and director, Rich Leigh & Company

  22. Mat Morrison, @mediaczar, owner, Mediaczar

  23. Paul Frampton (31), @Paul_Framp; CEO, Havas Media; group managing director, Havas Media Group UK

  24. Katie Moffat, @katiemoffat, digital marketing and social media consultant

  25. Joanna Geary, @JoannaUK, head of UK news & government partnerships, Twitter

  26. Tony Wood, @xfactorcomms, founder and managing director, X Factor Communications Ltd

  27. Lara O'Reilly (46), @larakiara, ‎global advertising editor, Business Insider

  28. Stephen Lepitak, @StephenLepitak, editor, The Drum

  29. Chris Lake, @lakey, vice president of inbound marketing, DueDil

  30. Dave Trott, @davetrott, creative director and Campaign columnist

  31. Mark Borkowski, @MarkBorkowski, CEO, Borkowski

  32. Will McInnes, @willmcinnes, CMO, Brandwatch

  33. Graham Charlton, @gcharlton, editor in chief, Econsultancy

  34. Sophie Brendel, @sophiebr, head of digital communications at BBC

  35. Rob Brown, @robbrown, managing partner, Rule 5

  36. Neil Perkin, @neilperkin, founder, Only Dead Fish

  37. Danny Whatmough, @DannyWhatmough, head of social, EMEA at Weber Shandwick

  38. Nicola Kemp, @nickykc, head of features, Marketing Magazine

  39. Danny Rogers, @dannyrogers2001, editor-in-chief, PRWeek

  40. Rachel Miller, @AllthingsIC, founder, All Things IC

  41. Paul Sutton, @ThePaulSutton, independent social and digital media consultant

  42. Steve Ward, @CloudNineRec, founder and managing director, CloudNine

  43. Stuart Bruce (39), @stuartbruce, international PR adviser and trainer, Stuart Bruce Associates

  44. Scott Dylan, @scottdylan: managing director, We Are AD; managing director, Fluid Creativity

  45. Max Tatton-Brown, @MaxTB, founding director, Augur

  46. Kevin Gibbons, @kevgibbo, managing director, BlueGlass

  47. Kate Magee, @katemagee, associate editor, Campaign

  48. Andrew Girdwood, @AndrewGirdwood, media innovations director, DigitasLBi

  49. Sue Llewellyn, @suellewellyn, co-founder, Ultra Social

  50. Andrew Bruce Smith, @andismit: director, escherman; non-executive partner, Meanwhile...

Lissted's influencer rankings are also available in Google sheets, and as a Twitter list.

Are Lissted's rankings better than Klout's? What do you think of Lissted's proposition? Let us know in the comments or talk to us on Twitter: @BrandRepublic, @jshanns, @Lissted and @AdParker.