ABC elections bring nine new members on to the council

The ABC has released the results of its bi-annual council elections.

The ABC has released the results of its bi-annual council


Of the eight industry categories, only three - consumer magazines,

business press and regional newspapers - were contested.

In consumer magazines, the three elected members are Martin Granby, the

head of circulation at the National Magazine Company, Sue Hawken,

managing director of Emap Elan and David Stam, managing director of IPC


The three elected members in business press are Tina Ainsworth,

circulation manager at DMG Business Media, Charles Arthur, circulation

director at Miller Freeman Direct and Christina Hallett, subscriptions

manager for Faversham House Group.

The three successful regional press candidates are Vic Ling, circulation

director for Newsquest, Roger Winfield, newspaper sales manager at the

Newcastle Chronicle and Journal and Geoffrey Copeman, vice-chairman of

Eastern Counties Newspapers.

Richard Bogie, ad director at The Express, and Cliff Ewan, circulation

director at The Daily Telegraph, will represent national newspapers,

which was uncontested.

Miller Freeman executive director Clive Ellings will represent

exhibition organisers. There is also representation for advertisers,

agencies and verified free distribution.

ABC chief executive Simon Devitt said: ’It’s good that the balance of

representation of members’ interests, large and small, has been


The new council’s first meeting will take place on 12 January.


Become a member of Campaign

Get the very latest news and insight from Campaign with unrestricted access to, plus get exclusive discounts to Campaign events.

Become a member

What is Campaign AI?

Our new premium service offering bespoke monitoring reports for your company.

Find out more

Looking for a new job?

Get the latest creative jobs in advertising, media, marketing and digital delivered directly to your inbox each day.

Create an alert now

Partner content