Amazon and BT lead insurgents challenging for BPG Award honours

Two Amazon TV shows and a BT's ultra high-definition channel have been shortlisted for the annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards in a sign that new entrants are challenging traditional broadcasters.

Wolf Hall: Mark Rylance as Thomas Cromwell
Wolf Hall: Mark Rylance as Thomas Cromwell

BBC and Channel 4 shows dominated the shortlists for the BPG Awards, which are sponsored by Now TV.

BBC1 crime thriller Doctor Foster, BBC2's historical drama Wolf Hall and Channel 4 comedy Catastrophe were among the shows to win multiple nominations from the BPG, a national association of TV and radio journalists and critics.

However, satellite, telecom, online and on-demand broadcasters also performed strongly. Sky won seven nominations, including for Scientology documentary Going Clear and drama Fortitude, Amazon had two shortlisted programmes, Man In The High Castle and Ripper Street, and UKTV's Gold and BT each got one nomination.

BBC3 show Professor Green: Suicide and Me was also shortlisted just as the Corporation plans to turn the channel online-only, along with two shows on BBC iPlayer, reflecting the rise of on-demand viewing.

The BPG Awards are given only for work commissioned and made in the UK and the winners will be announced at London's Theatre Royal Drury Lane on 11 March.

This year the BPG is recognising the growing importance of programmes commissioned for showing online-first, instead of on a broadcast channel, and has launched a new Made for Online (Digital First) award.

Now TV, the online steaming service owned by Sky, is sponsoring the awards for the first time.

The full list of nominations:

Best Single Drama

An Inspector Calls (BBC One)

The Dresser (BBC Two)

The Vote - live from Donmar Warehouse (More 4)


Best Drama Series

Doctor Foster (BBC One)

Fortitude (Sky Atlantic)

Humans (C4)

Wolf Hall (BBC Two)


Best Single Documentary

Going Clear (Sky Atlantic)

Love You to Death: A Year of Domestic Violence (BBC Two)

My Son the Jihadi (C4)

Professor Green: Suicide and Me (BBC Three)                                                       /4

BPG Awards 2015 – TV nominations /4


Best Documentary Series

Bob Monkhouse: The Million Joke Man (Gold)

Inside the Commons (BBC Two)

Face of Britain by Simon Schama (BBC Two)

The Murder Detectives (C4)


Best Entertainment/Factual Entertainment

First Dates (C4)

The Great British Bake Off (BBC One)

The Graham Norton Show (BBC One)

Wild Things (Sky1)


Best Comedy

Car Share (BBC One)

Catastrophe (C4)

Detectorists (BBC Four)

Hunderby (Sky Atlantic)


Made for Online (Digital First)

Adam Curtis: Bitter Lake (BBC iPlayer)

Car Share (BBC iPlayer)

The Man in the High Castle (Amazon)

Ripper Street (Amazon)


Best Actor

Mark Rylance (Wolf Hall, BBC Two)

Timothy Spall (Enfield Haunting, Sky Living)

Aidan Turner (Poldark BBC One/And Then There Were None, BBC One)

Ben Whishaw (London Spy, BBC Two)


Best Actress

Gemma Chan (Humans, C4)

Julia Davis (Hunderby, Sky Atlantic)

Claire Foy (Wolf Hall, BBC Two)

Suranne Jones (Doctor Foster, BBC One)

Nicola Walker (River, BBC One/Unforgotten, ITV)


Best Writer

Mike Bartlett (Doctor Foster, BBC One)

Rob Delaney/Sharon Horgan (Catastrophe, C4)

Simon Donald (Fortitude, Sky Atlantic)

Peter Straughan (Wolf Hall, BBC Two) 


Breakthrough Award

Gemma Chan (Humans, C4)

Michaela Coel (Chewing Gum, E4)

Sian Gibson (Car Share, BBC iPlayer/BBC One)

Aidan Turner (Poldark, BBC One/And Then There Were None, BBC One)

Innovation in Broadcasting Award

BT TV for its UHD Channel

The Sound of Music Live (ITV)

The Vote - live from Donmar Warehouse (More 4)

Russell T Davies for multiplatform series: Cucumber, Banana & Tofu (C4, E4 & All 4)