Throughout this report you will find evidence that account planning

is in better shape - the range of categories and brands where great

planning has contributed to great creative work is larger than ever, the

sizes, the styles and types of agencies represented are broader than

ever and the winners are as likely to be young planners who are

relatively new to the business as they are to be "old hands".

Even more encouraging is the in depth quality. Every shortlisted entry

on the following pages is an example of good, thoughtful planning, and

every one had a clear and positive effect on its campaign. All the

authors should be proud of the contribution they have made toward

better, more creative advertising.

The judges were inspired by this level of quality. There is a great deal

here for us all to learn from and celebrate.


Leon Jaume - Executive Creative Director, WCRS

Dominic Mills - Editorial Director, Campaign

Janet Grimes - Strategic Director, Wheel (APG Chairman)

John Bartle - Retired, Bartle Bogle Hegarty

Chris Green - Senior Vice-President, Marketing, ICI

Louise Jones - Communications Strategist, PHD

Adam Morgan - Founder, Eatbigfish

Rory Sutherland - Management Partner & Executive Creative Director,


Peter Dann - The Nursery, (APG Vice-Chairman)

The APG thanks the agency sponsors of this year's awards:

Abbott Mead Vickers BBDO Euro RSCG Wnek Gosper J. Walter Thompson Leo

Burnett Ogilvy Publicis Rainey Kelly Campbell Roalfe/Y&R Saatchi &

Saatchi WCRS.