I had nothing to do.

I had nothing to do.

I did not pick the jury.

I did not brief the jury. When you have a jury this experienced you

don’t give them guidance, you just let them get on with it.

I was not allowed to vote.

However, in the event of a tie, I was allowed a casting vote.


There was no tie.

In the case of fierce heated debate, I was to steer the discussion

towards a result. Brilliant!

There was no fierce heated debate.

(That’s not to say that the jury weren’t passionate about the work. They

were just passionate about the same work.)

So I spent two days watching one of the hardest working juries I have

ever seen read and then reread more than 2,000 press ads.

The results of their toil are recorded in this book.

And what are this year’s trends?

Well to be honest, the same as last year’s. Simple advertising remains

in fashion.

Long copy remains out of fashion. Fresh ideas are favoured over fresh


Visual clarity beats visual fireworks.

As the maelstrom of information increases, we instinctively yearn for

simplicity and clarity.

As the world appears to become more facile and superficial, we yearn for

intelligence and wit.

Congratulations to this year’s winners. They are probably some of the

simplest, clearest ads that this awards scheme has ever thrown up.

My thanks to the jury for giving me two days off and to Campaign for

continuing to support the cause of press advertising.


NICK CROSS - Marketing director Selfridges

DAVID HEPWORTH - Editorial director Emap Consumer Magazines

GREG DELANEY - Chairman, Delaney Lund Knox Warren & Partners

STEVE DUNN - Executive creative director, Ogilvy & Mather

ADAM KEAN - Creative director, Wieden & Kennedy

CHARLES INGE - Creative director Lowe Lintas

LEON JAUME - Creative director, WCRS

SUE UNERMAN - Director of strategic solutions, MediaCom TMB

PAUL SHEARER - Deputy creative director Euro RSCG Wnek Gosper

NICK GILL - Senior copywriter Bartle Bogle Hegarty.