Channel 4 and BBC win big at Broadcasting Press Guild Awards

Channel 4 has won five prizes at the Broadcasting Press Guild Awards, including two for comedy Catastrophe and an innovation award for Russell T Davies' LGBT trilogy Cucumber, Banana, Tofu.

Catastrophe, the Channel 4 comedy, won two prizes
Catastrophe, the Channel 4 comedy, won two prizes

Other big winners included the BBC Two drama, Wolf Hall, which won two awards, including best actor for Mark Rylance, and BBC One’s The Great British Bake Off for best factual entertainment show. 

The 42nd annual BPG awards, which were sponsored for the first time by Sky’s online streaming service Now TV, also introduced a new prize, the Best Made for Online (Digital First) award to reflect the surge in online and on-demand viewing.

Wolf Hall

Peter Kay’s Car Share, which debuted on BBC iPlayer, won the award. In a further sign of the changing broadcasting landscape, Amazon was shortlisted for the first time and BT picked up a nomination.

The BPG, a national association of journalists who write about TV and radio, votes to decide the shortlists and the winners. Programmes must be produced in the UK to be eligible.

The BBC was the biggest winner with seven awards in TV and two in radio. Channel 4, which is facing the possible threat of privatisation, was second best with five prizes but ITV won no awards and commercial radio did not even make the shortlists.

The awards took place at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane in London’s West End.

The full list of winners of the 42nd BPG TV and Radio Awards:

Best Single Drama
An Inspector Calls (BBC One)

Best Drama Series
Wolf Hall (BBC Two)

Best Single Documentary
My Son The Jihadi (Channel 4)

Best Documentary Series
The Murder Detectives (Channel 4)

Best Entertainment/ Factual Entertainment
The Great British Bake Off (BBC One)

Best Made for Online (Digital First)
Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer)                    

Best Comedy
Catastrophe (Channel 4)

Radio Broadcaster of the Year
John Finnemore for John Finnemore’s Souvenir Programme (BBC Radio 4)

Radio Programme of the Year
The Reunion, presented by Sue MacGregor (BBC Radio 4)

Best Actor
Mark Rylance – Wolf Hall (BBC Two)

Best Actress
Suranne Jones – Doctor Foster (BBC One)                       

Best Writer           
Sharon Horgan & Rob Delaney – Catastrophe (Channel 4) 

Breakthrough Award
Aidan Turner
for his roles as Captain Ross Poldark in Poldark (BBC One) and as Philip Lombard in And Then There Were None (BBC One) 

Innovation Award
Russell T Davies
for creating the multiplatform drama series Cucumber, Banana, Tofu, for the differing but interlinked audiences (Channel 4, E4 and All 4)

Harvey Lee Award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting
John Lloyd (producer/creator of The News Quiz, Not The Nine O’Clock News, Spitting Image, Blackadder, and QI, among others)