IPA Effectiveness Awards 2008: Effectiveness Company of the Year - Bartle Bogle Hegarty

Sponsored by Thinkbox.

Bartle Bogle Hegarty has done something extraordinary this year: broken the stranglehold that DDB has had on the IPA Effectiveness Agency of the Year Award in the open competition, since it launched in 2000.

For the past seven years, DDB has had the honour of scooping the prize four times - once jointly with RKCR/Y&R.

A regular entrant to these awards, sometimes with mixed success, BBH has not only managed to create the Grand Prix-winning entry with 'The story of Keep walking' for Johnnie Walker, but it has also picked up a gold for KFC, a silver for Audi and a bronze for Cadbury Biscuits.

The award is true testament to the agency, which has attempted to diversify beyond traditional advertising in the past two years, showing that, no matter which direction it goes in, it can still deliver on the core principles of making great ads - that work.

Founded: 1982
Staff: 455 (2007)
Gross income: £57m (2007)

Simon Sherwood: Global chief executive
Jim Carroll: Chairman
Ben Fennell: Chief executive
Nick Gill: Executive creative director
Rosie Arnold: Deputy executive creative director
Nick Kendall: Group strategy director