Media Awards 2010: Understanding a brand and its audience will deliver results

On behalf of all the judges, I'd like to thank everyone who had the passion to submit an entry into this year's awards.

We had more entries than last year, which is no mean feat given the demanding UK commercial environment. In every category we had strong competition for the gongs on offer, with many categories generating intense, constructive debate among the judges. I'd also like to thank the judges for being a wonderfully positive group, who clearly enjoyed the work offered up for review.

So what can we learn from the winners?

A consistent observation would be that leading-edge media practice is less and less about the amplification of creative advertising units and more about the breadth, depth and accountability of a vision that can leverage an audience's relationship with media assets. The stand-out winners demonstrated such comprehensive involvement in the marketing and communications solution that it was hard to see where the media agency's input ended, thereby reflecting the convergent battleground of our times in the agency sector.

Congratulations to all the winners, every one of them demonstrated the ability to add real value through their depth of brand and audience understanding. We can all take celebration in the quality of this year's work.

Mark Cranmer, global chief executive, Isobar (chairman of the judges) THE JUDGES (Product Sector Categories)

Stuart Sulllivan-Martin, chief strategy officer, MEC; Charlie Makin, chief strategy officer, Arena Media; Mark Cranmer, global chief executive, Isobar (chairman of the judges); Steve Hobbs, director of operations, Aegis Media; David Wilding, head of planning, PHD; Richard Hartell, chief strategy officer, Starcom MediaVest Group; Dan Hagen, managing partner, strategy, MPG Media Contacts; Hamid Habib, communications planning director, ZenithOptimedia

Stuart Garvie, media purchasing manager, UK & Ireland, Danone; Toby Roberts, head of planning, OMD UK; Sue Unerman, chief strategy officer, MediaCom; Stuart Bowden, deputy managing director, Vizeum; Lindsay Weedon, chief executive, Maxus; Enyi Nwosu, managing director, central strategy unit, M&C Saatchi

THE JUDGES (Media Owner Categories)

Chris Hayward, head of investment, ZenithOptimedia; Andy Jones, chief executive, Universal McCann; Alistair MacCallum, managing director, M2M; Glen Wilson, managing director, Posterscope, Simon Davis, managing director, Walker Media; Steve Hatch, managing director, MEC

THE JUDGES (Media Owner Categories)

Jonathan Allan, UK group trading director, OMD UK; Dan Clays, managing director, Arena Quantum; Chris Locke, trading director, Starcom MediaVest Group; Charlie McGee, managing director, Carat Digital; Daren Rubins, managing director, PHD Media: Jane Wolfson, head of non-broadcast, Initiative; Vanessa Clifford, head of press, Mindshare; Dominic Williams, print director, Aegis Media, Paul Frampton, managing director, MPG Media Contacts