Mindshare wins Arqiva awards agency of the year

Bauer and Global were once again big winners at the Arqiva Commercial Radio Awards last night, as Mindshare won agency of the year.

Jess Glynne: won the breakthrough UK artist of the year award
Jess Glynne: won the breakthrough UK artist of the year award

Mindshare won the gold award for the commercial radio media agency of the year category, with MediaCom taking silver and the7stars winning bronze.

Of the major groups, Global won the commercial radio marketing award for the launch of Radio X, which superseded XFM last year.

Iain Dale took home the presenter of the year award for Global’s LBC (over two million TSA, or total survey area), while Heart’s "100 happy days" on the Heart network won feature of the year.

Bauer’s gold winners included music commercial radio station of the year for Absolute Radio (more than two million TSA) and for Radio Borders (up to 500,000 TSA). The Christian O’Connell Breafast Show won breakfast show of the year for Absolute Radio (over two million TSA).

GTN won the commercial radio national sales award for its work on Lucozade’s "Find your flow" campaign, created by Grey London.

Duracell’s "Perfection" was awareded the most creative campaign of the year, ahead of "AA fuel assist" and "Specsavers bat".

Jess Glynne was awarded the breakthrough UK artist of the year award, while Ed Sheeran won the prize for most played artist on commercial radio.

Global’s chief executive, Stephen Miron, was given the inaugural Arqiva Industry Leader of the Year Award, while broadcasting stalwart and Telegraph radio critic Gillian Reynolds was presented with the 2016 Arqiva Lifetime Achievement Award.

Siobhan Kenny, the chief executive of Radiocentre, the marketing body for commercial radio, said: "As the media landscape grows increasingly complex, commercial radio not only remains but goes from strength to strength, producing compelling content, curated by DJs and presenters who are trusted by legions of listeners. Everyone here tonight should be very proud."

Jon Holmes hosted this year's awards, which are now in their 21st year.