Posters - The Winners 2006: Posters holding their own in new digital world order

What is a poster? Should it be defined by its media environment or its creative content or indeed both? Certainly this question was keenly debated numerous times during the recent judging day for the 2006 Campaign Poster Advertising Awards.

Perhaps once considered to be the simplest and purest of media, the poster as we know it is going through significant change. Digital communication is rapidly challenging the traditional rules of consumer engagement and its disruption of outdoor media will be as significant as it is inevitable.

As obvious as all this may seem, never has there been a greater need among us all (clients and agencies) to ensure creativity is not suffocated in this new world order, rather it is allowed to thrive.

Thank you to all the judges for their full commitment and enthusiasm throughout the day of judging. It was generally agreed that the standard of entries was high - although the quality of creative work still differs greatly from category to category. Why is this?

Finally, congratulations to all the winners for your outstanding achievements. Enjoy your night.

Dave Waters, Creative head, DFGW
Nick Gill, Creative director, Bartle Bogle Hegarty
Gerry Moira, UK director of creativity, Euro RSCG London
Ben Priest, Creative director, Rainey Kelly Campbell Roalfe/Y&R
Tiger Savage, Deputy creative director, M&C Saatchi
Justin Tindall, Creative partner, The Red Brick Road
David Patton, (Chairman of the judges), Senior vice-president, marketing
communications, Sony Europe
Graham Bednash, Managing director, Michaelides & Bednash
Matthew Batstone, Group marketing and strategy director, The Economist
Glen Wilson, Deputy managing director, Posterscope
Paul Shearer, Global executive creative director and joint founder,
David McEvoy, Marketing director, JCDecaux
Julia Bowe, Marketing director, Harvey Nichols.